A New Look & An Old Finish

What do you think about my updated look?  I liked the brown from before, but it was starting to feel too dark.  So I found this nice brighter theme.  I think it is much happier looking than the brown 🙂

If you haven’t noticed, I am really terrible about taking photos.  I know I need to get better about getting shots of all my projects, both finished & in progress.  But I am usually just too tired to mess with the camera, so most of the time, I don’t.  However, my best friend was kind enough to get an Action Shot of a mug rug that I made for her earlier this year.  I was supposed to have it done as a Christmas 2010 gift.  But that didn’t happen.  I did at least get it done & delivered before Christmas 2011 though!!

The mug was a previous gift, so I decided to try & stick with that theme for the new rug.  It took awhile to figure out what I was going to do, because I kept trying to figure out how to piece those cute rounded flowers into it.  Eventually I realized I could just go with the traditional Friendship Star & try to match the colors.  I think that worked out much better.  I still think those flowers would be super cute, so I may try that out someday.  But I am pleased with how this version turned out.  Here are all three together that I made for my work friends.

Argyle with mugSheep with mug

So this is not actually what I have been up to lately.  The things I need to take pictures of are – I started a new baby quilt & I finished the broomstick lace that I showed a progress picture of before.  I will try to make myself get photos soon, & I still need to layer, baste & quilt those letter quilts.  I will be happy to have those finished & on their way to my adorable baby cousins!!

What about you?  What have you been up to lately?

S&Y Green Turtle

8 responses to this post.

  1. Green is my favourite colour, and it is the colour of turtles. The mug rug with the sheep is may favourite – he’s toats cute.

    I think my photos got better when I started using the camera on my phone. I think it just has a more even flash than my actual camera does.

    Reply

    • Thank you, Sara! Green is one of my most favorite colors too. And it does go nicely with the turtle 🙂

      My son is actually becoming a pretty good photographer, so I like to have him take the pictures for me.

      Reply

  2. Those are really nice finishes! I have been looking for some cute mugs, but haven’t found any as nice as those. Must look more carefully!

    Reply

    • Thank you, Deanna! The travel mug was ordered from a catalog but at least one of the other two was from an overstock outlet type place. So they weren’t expensive, but I did sort through a LOT of mugs looking for them 🙂

      Reply

  3. Love the new look! Green is so refreshing. Your mug rugs are so fun. I love the argyle pattern on the middle one.

    Reply

    • Thank you, Terri! I definitely think the green feels better than the brown did.
      I was really happy with how the argyle turned out – especially after the hideous version I started with 🙂 Mug rugs are so fun, and such a great way to figure out new techniques on a smaller scale!

      Reply

  4. Love all of the mug rugs!! No doubt your friend will think of you each time she uses it!
    Smiles~Beth

    Reply

Leave a Reply

