September BOM & My Happy Quilt

I finally got around to taking a photo of my September BOM block.  I am still excited to be participating in this.  My points aren’t great, but hopefully my work will improve with each block.  I’m using a set of 12″ squares that I got for Christmas last year.

Awhile ago, I started working on a quilt for myself – I’m calling it My Happy Quilt, partly because I’m finally making a quilt just for me, & partly because I designed it with Happy by Me and My Sister Designs.  I am pretty sure I am not alone in this, but whenever I start a quilt for myself, it tends to take lowest priority behind other projects.  Here is a sneak peek of its current condition.

This chunk is going to be the center of the quilt.  I have to rip some seams and make some corrections though.  You can probably tell why from the photo above.  I cut the white pieces too small, so there is no room for the seam allowance.  I still have the baby blankets that I’m working on & the broomstick lace, which is nearly completed.  I should have a Finish Photo of that posted later this week.

Have you been following the Traveling Stash?  Jen from The Quilty Home is about to send it on to Mama Spark’s World soon.  I’ve enjoyed checking out all the fun people who’ve been swapping stuff out of the stash.  Take a peek, and maybe you can win a visit from the Traveling Stash too!

S&Y Green Turtle

8 responses to this post.

  1. A quilt “just for you” sounds lovely! Quilters should do that more often.

    Reply

    • I agree!! This is the third one I’ve started “just for me” but sadly, the other two are UFOs. I will get back to them eventually…. probably….. I think.

      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Reply

  2. Cool blocks! Love the fabrics you put together here. This is going to be such a cozy, homey quilt!

    Reply

    • Thanks Terri! I got them as a gift & thought they’d be perfect for my first quilt along! The next block doesn’t get posted until October 25th though, so I’m getting antsy to continue.

      ~ M

      Reply

  3. Cute block! Enjoy making your ‘Just for me’ quilt.

    Reply

    • Thank you! I’ve enjoyed making it so far – but seam ripping is less fun. I know I’ll be happier with it after I get it sewn back together with right sized pieces, though. AND all the white triangles I’m ripping off will make great scraps for a potentially upcoming sew-a-long!! 😉

      Reply

  4. Posted by Melinda on October 7, 2011 at 14:57

    This is actually a comment on acomment you left on Pat Sloan’s Blog 🙂 I thought it was funny that on the day you leave a comment about an Ale 8 1 and Yoo hoo costume that I’m drinking an Ale 8 1 thinking about my favorite yellow item. I knew you had to be from Kentucky and you are. I’m from Lexington though I live in Charlotte now. My peeps are from Jackson County if you know where that is 🙂 Glad to see quilters from KY; keep up the good work!

    Reply

    • Melinda!!! It is super nice to meet you 🙂 It seems we have a few things in common. Thank you so much for stopping by & leaving such a wonderful comment. It’s always nice to find more KY crafters online!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

