Friday Night & Some Progress

Last night was the FNSI, but I was too tired to accomplish what I had intended.  I did get some rows done on this project though!

I had planned to make some real progress today, on the two baby blankets I needed to work on.  Instead, my boss called me at about 8:30 this morning because of an issue with work.  So I spent about twelve hours on that, & didn’t have much time left over for baby blankets.  I did manage to get a start on cutting the pieces though.  One blanket is for a boy & one for a girl.  They are cousins & were born one day apart from each other.  I have a set of neutral colors I plan to cut into 6 inch squares for both blankets. But the pieces here will be used to make 4 patch squares which will be organized into the shape of an A for the girl, & a J for the boy.  They will be very simple, but I think they will turn out cute.

Ale-8 was my photographer today!  He got a nice camera for Christmas from his grandparents.  I think he takes pretty good photos.  🙂  I look forward to checking out what everyone else has been working on for the sew in!  Leave me a link if you posted anything, I want to make sure I don’t miss any!

Handmade by Heidi

S&Y Green Turtle

15 responses to this post.

  1. Good luck on your projects! I think you have a budding photographer in the house – great shots. 😉

    Reply

  2. I’m glad you were able to get something done last night. Sorry about work calling you… that’s a bummer! It’s nice that you got the cutting done for the quilts. That’s quite an accomplishment! Can’t wait to see them! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Sometimes things don’t go as planned. You had everything ready for a great FNSI and you still accomplished a little bit.Never mind, next time you’ll get it through ( if your boss doesn’t remember calling again).

    Reply

    • Well I’ve still been making progress today on those 4 patch squares. As you’ve said, sometimes things don’t go as planned – but I’m not going to let that keep me from getting all my craft projects done on time this year!! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

  4. What a lovely idea for the patchwork blankets…love the fabrics!!

    Reply

  5. Are the blankets quilts or are you knitting them?

    Reply

    • The baby blankets I am working on are to be quilts. The other project is a broomstick lace scarf. I love having a project like that going, because I can sit in bed watching TV, & still work on it!

      Reply

  6. I like how you’re going to organize the blocks into an ‘A’ and ‘J’. Looking forward to seeing them finished! Working calling sounds like something that would happen with me, I understand how that goes! I’m glad you got some things accomplished. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    Reply

    • Thank you, Gina. I like the simplicity of it, but it will still be personal to the kids. I was thinking today that I could make up a stash of those 4 patch blocks and then just save them around until another baby comes along needing a quilt! One of my biggest problems is lack of time – but since they are so simple, they work well for me. 🙂

      Reply

  7. Thanks for coming by to see what I managed to make…. I love the look of the pattern on your knitting and the colours for the baby quilts look great…. lucky babies…
    Hugz

    Reply

  8. Sorry you got called into work for FNSI, but you still got some FNSI’ing done, lol. I love your idea of the initial quilts for the cousins, and those fabrics are cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

