Introducing: My Boys & Their Costumes

As I’m sure everyone realizes, Halloween was this past weekend.  I am such a procrastinator (normally, at least).  But this year, we had the costumes done ahead of time!  It just takes me awhile extra to get the photos posted. 🙂  But at least my older son got to wear his costume for the party at school on Friday!

I’ve noticed that a lot of the bloggers I follow will talk about their family & use abbreviations or nicknames for people.  This is cool, I think, because it allows the readers to follow along with who’s-who, but it also allows the blogger to keep some anonymity about their children’s names.  I’m a little paranoid about that sort of thing too, since this blog is public.  So, I’ve decided to “rename” my children.  From now on, they will be known as:

 

Ale-8 & Yoo-Hoo!

Halloween-2010 (Ale 8 1 & yoo-hoo)

 

It’s difficult to say whether this is the best we’ve done on costumes.  But this is only yoo-hoo’s second Halloween, and we didn’t make his costume last year.  So this is the first time we’ve had a chance to make a costume set, and I think they’re super cute!

For those of you who are not from my area (KY) Ale-8-1 is a local soft drink.  It is actually a caffeinated ginger ale &  is a family favorite in our house!!  I think most everyone knows yoo-hoo. But in case you don’t it is a chocolate drink, and also a favorite in our house!   I was slightly tempted to let them both dress as Ale-8s, but since the little guy has never had any, we chose yoo-hoo instead.

I probably should’ve taken some photos of the supplies used to make the costumes.  But I just didn’t think of it before hand.  My husband was the design man on this project.  I did most of the production 🙂   We used water tubing from the local hardware store to make the cans keep their round shape.  The yellow on the Ale-8 (top & bottom) was looped around to make a sleeve for the tubing.  On the yoo-hoo, the brown chocolate drips fold over to form the sleeves.  Our original plan included white fabric and paint to get the logos added to the front (and back) of the cans.  But at some point, my brilliant husband realized that the logos cut off of 12-pack boxes were the perfect size!  That saved us HOURS of time & work!  It also meant we didn’t have to wait for any drying time, before they could try them on.  The only thing he painted was Yoo-Hoo’s pop tab.  Ale-8’s was made of duct tape (as are the top & bottom rims of his can), but we were concerned that yoo-hoo would pull his off all night.  So we made it light enough that he would forget it was there.

Since both drinks are available in bottles, which come in handled carry-boxes, I decided those would make the perfect candy buckets.  So that’s what they’re carrying in the photo, to collect all their loot.

 

Did you make any costumes this year?  I’d love to hear about them!

S&Y Green Turtle

18 responses to this post.

  1. Adorable! Never heard of your local soda. Our local soda would be Dublin Dr Pepper made with real sugar, vs Corn syrup. That might be a good idea for next year…

    Reply

    • Thanks, Jennifer!

      Dr Pepper is my favorite! They recently started producing “Heritage” Dr Pepper which I believe is the same formula as Dublin Dr Pepper. They only put out limited quantities at a time, so we grab it when we see it. They’ve also started doing Pepsi & Mountain Dew Throwbacks, made with real sugar. I’m hoping that means we’re seeing the beginning of the end of High Fructose Corn Syrup. Aside from the negative health effects – it just doesn’t taste as good!

      Thanks for dropping by!

      Reply

  2. These costumes are so cute and clever! I loved reading about how you guys made them. I love ginger ale, so I’m going to look for that Ale-8-1 drink in my area – thanks for the tip.

    Reply

    • Thanks, Terri! We had fun making them, and I was pretty impressed with my husband’s ideas. He always has great costume ideas, though. Last year, our older son wanted to be a space ship from an old PC game. So we made him the ship, and he wore a Commander’s uniform under it. It was also pretty awesome. There was also a Godzilla costume, (two actually, b/c he wouldn’t wear the first one…) the year he was a robot (complete with working circuit boards and lights), Sonic the Hedgehog, a dragonfly (for his first Halloween) and the Train Engineer from Conjunction Junction…

      If I were better organized with my old photos, I could do an entire post just on his Halloween costumes over the years!

      Reply

  3. Those costumes are just too cute!!! I love that your hubby helped and how creative you both were with the materials! Cheers!
    ~Beth

    Reply

    • Thanks Beth!

      I am the one with the “crafty” blog, but I think in general, he is the one that is more creative. My son has only had one store-bought costume for Halloween. Other than that, he’s been able to pick anything he wanted to be, and my husband has come up with a plan / design for it. Then it usually takes the two of us make it go. I’ve always been pleased with the results.

      Thanks for the comment 🙂

      Reply

  4. My goodness those costumes are so stinkin cute! You and your husband are both so creative. Bottle holder for the candy? You need to patent that!

    No fun costumes here in my neck of the country. My older son is too old (and way too tall) and the younger one wore the costume (Grim Reaper) I made him last year.

    Reply

    • Well so long as he had fun, it’s okay to reuse the costume! Thanks for your compliments, the bottle holder candy buckets were MY idea! I take full credit on that one 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

  5. The costumes are really original and cute. I’ve had Ale-8 and quite like it. It has that ginger ale taste but is different.

    Reply

    • Thank you, Madeline! The “different” I believe is that they add pear juice to it as well. At least, I know I read that somewhere. I don’t remember if it was a reputable source or not, though LOL

      Thanks for visiting 🙂

      Reply

  6. My children are known as Number One Son, Middle Son, Young Son and Daughter. Keeps it simple. Cute costumes.

    Reply

    • That does make it easier for everyone to know who you’re talking about! I really could’ve just called them Thing 1 and Thing 2 ~ but I know that’s been done 🙂

      Glad you stopped by!

      Reply

  7. I am a Kentucky gal and know exactly what Ale-8 is!!! It is a favorite of my children also. Love the costumes and “nicknames” for your children!

    Reply

    • Thank you, Rhonda! Welcome to my blog 🙂

      One of my cousins actually had Ale-8 as the primary drink, and decorations at his wedding a few years ago!

      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Reply

  8. These costumes are fabulous. They look so cute. Job well done!

    Reply

  9. Oh my goodness – how cute are your boys and their costumes! I’m amazed that you and your hubby made those! I have so much to learn for diy projects. 😉

    And I love the idea of creating names for your kids! I haven’t created names for mine yet (i just have been referring to them as my 2 year old and my 14 month old. I love your boys’ names that you picked. I’m paranoid about that stuff, too.

    SO nice to meet you!

    -Hether

    Reply

    • Thank you, Hether! If you want to learn about DIY projects, you should check out the crafty blogs in my sidebar. There are a lot of very talented women (and men!) hanging out here in crafty blog land!

      I’m so glad you came by to check out my page 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

