Catching Up & Challenge Results!

There have been THREE weekends since my last blog posting!  That is too much time.  So here is an update of accomplishments from this past month.

Five day weekend was spent hanging out with my family.  We drove up to Ohio one day to visit the Air Force museum.  My son really wanted to see the SR-71 BlackBird. If you ever have the chance to go, you should make the trip.  It is free to get in, and they have a ton of flight & military history to absorb!

I didn’t do much sewing.  But my son & I worked on some Perler Bead projects.  I made these cute little boxes.  One is a puzzle cube and the other is just a gift box with lid.  They were a lot of fun to make!  I love Perler Beads  ♥ !

Here is a preview of part of my “secret” Christmas project!  I know you can’t really tell anything about it from looking at this photo.  So my “secret” is still safe!! I did most of this work over my five day weekend too.

Friday Night Sew In! I only partly participated this month.  Apparently we had some sort of bug at home that week.  I put the baby to bed Thursday evening around 8:30 or 9.  Then I went to bed myself & was completely passed out very soon after.  I slept, slept, slept until the alarm woke me Friday morning.  I was so excited for the FNSI, I bought snack & drink supplies to help keep me awake.  But by the time I got home, I was too tired to mess with any of it.  So after the kids were in bed, I put on my PJs, grabbed my crochet bag and climbed into bed myself.  My husband was very supportive.  He watched shows with me to help me stay up and at least work on something.  I had a list of about 7 projects I wanted to choose from – mostly sewing.  But I only worked on the one I could do in bed. 🙂  I did end up getting the last panel of the afghan nearly completed.  I’ll take & post a photo of the panels when I get the last one completed.

Once I get this panel finished, I will have five total, ready to put together.  Does anyone know any good tutorials showing different ways to crochet panels together?  Once I get this piece done, I will be making a couple small test panels to practice joining.  I’ll probably just make up different joining patterns until I find one I like.

I was not happy with my lack of progress, or lack of photography on Friday night, so I didn’t bother linking up on Saturday.  But I did actually work on something!

Today completes the October One Thing One Week Challenge, as hosted by Amy.  Here are the promised pictures of my September results.

You can tell I need a lot of work.  But overall, I was not terribly disappointed by my first attempt.

This week, I decided to work one of the projects I didn’t do for the Friday Night Sew In.  I made a “luggage tag” for my son’s band instrument.  The tag he was using is from a store where we were previously renting an instrument.  Since we no longer rent from them, we didn’t want to keep the store logo on his case, because we don’t want someone to think that’s where it should be returned if it gets lost.  ALSO, the other tag is just flat, with his information clearly visible on one side.  For safety reasons, I prefer the fold over style tags, that have to be opened in order to read the name.  That way, someone can’t just read it as he passes by, and then pretend to know him.  Here are my results!

Any guesses about which instrument he plays?

The Elvis version was my test run, since I didn’t really have a pattern exactly – just the ideas in my head.  It turned out pretty well, I think.  So I’m sending it to my grandmother, who enjoyed Elvis quite a lot.  So hooray for meeting my Challenge Goal this week!  You should go here and check out what everyone else has accomplished.

I had a LOT of fun making the luggage tags and I’m looking for an excuse to make some more.  SO – I’ve decided to do my very first giveaway!  Entering to win is simple.  Just leave me a comment on this blog post to let me know you’re interested.  In your comment, please give me a theme or color set idea so I can try to pick fabric you’ll like.  Make sure you have an email address available, so I can contact you if you win.  This will be the first time I’ve ever tried this, so I’m not sure about how the “No-Reply” stuff works between blog sites (i.e. between WordPress & Blogger).

So: Leave me a comment, with a theme or color scheme idea that you like.   Make sure I have access to your email address.  And on Wednesday, I will select a winner via Random.org (because that’s what all the cool kids use)

S&Y Green Turtle

17 responses to this post.

  1. Gee,,,,could it be a French Horn??? Or another brass instrument. My DD plays the French Horn, and makes a living doing it. You are giving me ideas….

    Reply

    • It IS the French Horn! LOL He has only been playing for a couple months. We tried to talk him into something smaller, since he is fairly small too. But he set his heart on the French Horn, so that is what he is playing 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by!

      ~ Meagan

      Reply

  2. Posted by Jeanette on October 26, 2010 at 08:06

    Love your luggage tags! The foldover idea is very smart. I’m really into the BLUES — ours is a very musical family, as well. I might have to copy your idea for some quick Christmas presents!

    Reply

    • Thank you! The foldover worked well for this fabric print, since the Horn image is so large. It would have to have the edges cut off to make a good sized flat tag.

      They really do work up pretty quickly. I spent a few days figuring the details out in my head. But once I sat down to work on them, I went from cutting to finished on the two of them in just a few short hours. I’m sure it would go a lot faster for me now that I’ve finished those two. (and if I were more organized) The time consuming part was actually the slow satin stitching at the end!

      ~ Meagan

      Reply

  3. Sounds like you have been super busy with all sorts of things (the good and the bad). Is the Air Force museum you went to in OH in Dayton? I used to live there, so I was curious. Love your luggage tags! What a fun little project with your perler beads too.

    Reply

    • Thank you! I’m happy with how the tags turned out. The Perler projects were really fun, too. They took awhile to make though, since I was sharing the boards with my son and we only have four of the small square shapes that I was using.

      The museum we went to is in Dayton, yes. Or at least, it’s super close, if not technically “in” Dayton. We had a really good time. They have tons of awesome stuff to look at. I’m on the lookout now for old propellers to decorate my walls with 🙂 I think one would look awesome over the thruway between our living room and dining/kitchen area.

      Did you ever visit the museum when you lived there?

      Reply

  4. Great luggage tags.

    For some foolish reason I decided to make each family member an afghan for Christmas. That’s 3. Well, then my niece came to stay for a few months, so that’s 4. I have 2 finished, hers is well onthe way and hubby’s has lots to go. Oh well, they will get done, somehow. Thanks for visiting.

    Reply

    • Oh my! That is a large undertaking! I will be happy just getting one afghan and one quilt completed for Christmas this year 🙂 Good luck to you though! The work you posted on your page looks great!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

  5. Wow! You did well after having the yuckies so bad! Those luggage labels are a great idea–and go you on making everything from an idea in your head to the finish!
    TTFN
    Hazle

    Reply

    • Thanks, Hazle!

      I tend to start with my own idea on my sewing projects. Only once have I ever really used someone else’s pattern, and that was for making super easy crazy squares.

      I loved your photo from last Thursday. I can’t wait to see the end result of all your HST work!

      ~ Meagan

      Reply

  6. The luggage tags are a great idea. I like black and brights. Hope everyone is feeling better at your house. We’ve had the yuck too and it’s no fun.

    Reply

    • Thank you, Emily. We are all doing much better now. I think we could all use some time to catch up on sleep though 🙂
      I hope you and your family are feeling better, too!

      ~ Meagan

      Reply

  7. Oh wow, I was surprised to hear I won. Thank-you so much for hosting your contest. Will send a private email with mailing address etc.

    Reply

  8. the perler boxes are so cool! I love the luggage tag idea, too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

