Coffee, Despearate Housewives & a Challenge Finish!

Thanks to Terri’s post and her Autumn Spice Coffee, I decided to start my Saturday morning with some coffee of my own, and get some progress made on my One Week Challenge.  And guess what?  It worked!  I set up my computer on my sewing table to watch some episodes of Desperate Housewives (season 1), and I got my test sandwich done!  I didn’t watch the show when it started.  I thought it was just another soap opera for night time TV.  I recently found out it was more of a mystery show which caught my attention.  And it doesn’t hurt to know that Nathan Fillion shows up in a later season. ♥

Hopefully I’ll be able to post a picture of my test sandwich later today.  I wasn’t able to find my “real” camera this morning.  But I can use my cell phone later, if that’s all I’ve got.  I’m not ecstatic about the results of my quilting.  But I am happy enough for my first real attempt.  It ended up too big for a pot holder or trivet.  I might try to finish it as a place mat, but one side is Pink Panther fabric, so no one in my house will want to use it!  I had bought a bunch of that fabric for a potential project for a friend.  But I ended up only making a purse, so I still have some yardage left over.  My quilting was an attempt at the lovely rounded meandering paths that I see so often.  The path itself is fine, but you can definitely see places where the free motion foot & my machine were not getting along.  They seemed to dislike each other more & more as I progressed.  Or maybe they just didn’t like me…  I expected the unevenness of my stitching.  In fact, I think for the most part the stitch sizes are a lot more even than I thought I’d get on my first try.  But there are some half-inch stitches in there. :-)  I changed my tension a few times during the process, and from looking at the results, I’d say that 7 or 8 is where I should probably keep it for quilting.  I wasn’t able to try it at full speed, because I had to fight the fabric so much to move around under the foot sometimes.  But sometimes it moved great.  I’m sure it’s something I’ll either get better at with practice, or I’ll learn to live with it until I get a machine that’s really intended to quilt with.

So my coffee was delicious, (Guatemalan Antigua with Swiss Miss, sugar & milk – yum!) my challenge was completed, & I started a new TV series I enjoy, which I can watch while sewing!  I’d call that a successful Saturday for me!

And since I had such success on Saturday, I’ve decided to try out the Friday Night Sew In for October.  The motivation will be good for me, and I love joining the giveaway drawings!

What about you?  Did you get your goals accomplished this weekend?  Anyone else want to join me for the FNSI on October 15th?  I think I may work that night on an afghan I’m making.  If I’m really focused, I bet I can finish the fifth & final panel for it that night.  Then I’ll just need to figure out how in the world to put them all together!

S&Y Green Turtle

8 responses to this post.

  1. Sounds like you had a very productive weekend, with a tasty mug of coffee to treat yourself! I managed to get a lot done on Friday, but I’m procrastinating my homework today! I have a Photoshop assignment due on Monday that I need to work on, but I’d rather be sewing (of course).

    Reply

  2. I’ll be sewing on the 15th. It is one of my favorite nights of the month.

    Reply

    • Yay! Then I will at least know one person I will be crafting with. I haven’t decided (and probably won’t until that day) if I’m going to work on the afghan, or if I might try to get some smaller sewing projects started, done & out of the way.

      Reply

  3. Did you remember to drop your feed dogs? I did some quilting today and found that it went much better when I finally remembered to drop those dogs!!

    Reply

    • I *did* remember to drop my feed dogs. It always takes me a little while to change over to my free motion / embroidery foot, and that part is a little frustrating. But the feed dogs are easy on my machine, and didn’t cause me any problems. I may post photos of what I think the problem is, and see if anyone out there knows what I should try to correct it.

      Reply

  4. I am also working on machine quilting. Besides the feeddogs did you adjust the presser foot presure? Check out this Youtube video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ox8qRhWF3CI.

    Reply

    • Thank you for linking to this video! I don’t know if my machine’s pressure is adjustable. But next time I sit down at my sewing table, that is the first thing I will check out. Fortunately, I recently reorganized my sewing area, and I know exactly where my manual is this time! :-)

      Haha! She said finding the right pressure is almost like Goldilocks! That’s a cute analogy. I’ll let you know how it goes after I try it out on my machine.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

