I want!

$I try not to spend much money on fabric for my quilts.  I don’t look for specific designers.  I shop the clearance & sale sections of my local fabric store.  I can’t afford to spend a lot of money, so I would never pay $9.00 for a yard of fabric.  Well… I would never have paid that *before.*

Then I was directed toward Tula Pink & her new, coming-not-quite-soon-enough-for-me-but-soon-to-be-released Parisville line.  I LOVE it!  I’m pretty sure it will be about $9 a yard when it comes out, and I’m pretty sure I’ll be buying it.  I’m not too keen on the Sprout color line, but the Pommegranate & Mist color lines are perfect for me!  If you check out her site, you can see some of her inspiration & sketchwork for designing this collection.  I love the patterns & colors & the strangeness of the hair designs.  The lion is my favorite, but I don’t think it made it into the collection.

So yeah, I’ll have to get some of those this fall or winter.

And since I was enjoying Parisville, I thought I’d check out some of her other lines.  Each of them were neat, fun, creative & distinctive.  But none of the others caught me quite how Parisville had… until I looked at the Full Moon Forest collection.  Now, I want these fabrics so bad it hurts!!  The Hushabye line uses some of the same designs with different colorings, but the Full Moon Forest colors are amazing!!  And I Love the “seek & find” style to her artwork.  I tried looking for these fabrics online, but I only found a few pieces left, mostly of the fish.  No owls, no squirrels, no raindrops, no bunnies, no trees.  So sad 😦  Hushabye does have some raindrops & bunnies that would work well for me.  But it doesn’t have the squirrels & the owl colors aren’t as much fun.  They’re much more subdued, which suits the name very well.  But I just Loved the pink & purple versions in the Full Moon Forest!

I also have to mention the adorable snail in the Flutterby collection.  Apparently, I have a thing for the critters among her designs.

So if you know of anywhere I can get *REAL* Tula Pink fabrics from her older lines… Please, Please, Please let me know!

* I say “real” because she’s having an issue with knock-offs of her designs being sold @ Wal-Mart right now. 😦

S&Y Green Turtle

2 responses to this post.

  1. Just a heads up – if you like a designer fabric, you’d better get it when it comes out – they don’t stick around for long. Precuts are a great way to get a taste of an expensive fabric, rather than buying yardage – you can supplement it with great solids and still enjoy the designer stuff. I feel the same way about fabric you do – I do NOT like to pay retail!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

