A-Tisket, A-Tasket, My Award Winning Basket!!

I’m super excited about this!  My son & I decided to enter our county fair this year.  He had been taking photographs while my grandparents were visiting this summer, & I recently found out that our fair is held over Labor Day weekend, so I talked him into entering some of his pictures.  It took us awhile to pare down the selection of photos, because we liked so many of them.  But eventually we helped him pick out four that we thought were the best for the categories available.  He entered two black & white, and two color.  He had also made a birdhouse as part of his summer reading project, so he entered that into the 4H woodworking category.  Since he was entering items, I decided I should probably be a good role model and enter some of my own work.  I hadn’t finished any new quilts lately.  The last ones I’d made all went to friends & family as baby gifts.  So instead, I decided to enter these.

Basket Case Wildflower Basket with Braided Rim

The first is a carry case I made in order to keep & use my great-grandmother’s sewing kit.  It’s been handed down through the four generations, with most of her sewing accessories remaining in the kit.  Unfortunately, it’s lost the latch to keep the contents safe if it gets knocked over.  It’s also lost the carry handle to make it easier to haul around to sewing classes & retreats & such.  So I designed this cute & snug little carry bag that allows me to secure the lid with a button down strap, as well as to carry it around with a shoulder strap.  I had a few measurements to work with, but I mostly just lined the fabric up with the basket & marked the right lengths.

The second item, which was a last minute addition to my fair entries, is a basket I made at Craft Camp this year.  The design is called a Wildflower Basket, but I’m not sure who created it.  This class took all day.  From breakfast until lunch was spent building the basket part, which was slightly different due to the sloped sides.  From lunch until dinner (and beyond, in my case) was spent entirely on the braiding around the rim.  I made a lot of mistakes, but I learned a TON about how to correct my mistakes without tearing apart 6 hours of work 🙂

Last Monday we registered our items for judging, and this past Saturday we were able to go downtown for the parade, and to check out all the entries & winners.  I was amazed to find out that my basket had won Best In Show!!  I will try to update this post with a photo of the basket & ribbon after I pick them back up tomorrow.  My son also won ribbons.  His birdhouse & one photograph both received Third Place ribbons, while a separate photograph of his was awarded Second Place!!  So between the two of us, we had seven entries into the fair, & four of them earned ribbons.  🙂

Do you have local fairs where you live?  Have you ever entered one of your craft items?  I’ve always grown up with a local county fair, but this was the first time I’d ever submitted anything.  It was certainly a great first experience & we will definitely be looking around for next year’s entries-to-be!

S&Y Green Turtle

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Alicia on September 8, 2010 at 18:29

    Wow! Congratulations to you and your son! 🙂 I’m not sure if there are any fairs like that around here, definitely something to look into though! I’m glad you had such a wonderful 1st experience 🙂 Sounds like a lot of fun!!

    Reply

    • Thank you Alicia!

      Here in Kentucky, every county has an extension agency that is part of UK. I don’t know if each county has an annual fair, but I think each extension agency is supposed to have some sort of annual craft competition. I think most of them incorporate it into the annual fairs though.

      You should see if you can find something like that near you. I wasn’t expecting to win anything. But as my mom said, you should enter your projects anyway, because people like to look and see what everyone else is working on. And sometimes, your projects may surprise you! ♥

      BTW – I didn’t see it before, but when I went to pick up our entries, my basket case / carrier thing also had a 2nd place ribbon on it 🙂

      Reply

  2. Hi, Meagan! I tried to e-mail you back after you posted on my blog/giveaway, but you’re set to “no reply”. As a new blogger, this may not be intentional – I’m not familiar with wordpress but there’s probably something you should click in your profile that will allow your email address to appear when someone tries to respond to your comments.

    Anyway, good luck on the giveaway! Be sure to check back on Sunday night to see if you won! PS I’m following you now through my blog….

    Reply

  3. You. Make. Baskets.

    I am so impressed. 🙂

    Reply

    • Thank you, Susan! Actually, I am so excited!! I just found out that my basket also won a blue ribbon at the Area Homemakers competition! So next May I can submit it for the State level 🙂

      It’s funny, I couldn’t go to the meeting, so I sent the basket with our local coordinator. I didn’t get a call or anything saying I’d won, but I read about it in the monthly newsletter! LOL

      I’m going to see about picking it up from her this weekend.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

