Challenge Finish & A Fond Farewell

Goodbye, Leslie William Nielsen (Feb 11, 1956 – Nov 28, 2010)

Though he is most famous for his comedic roles in films such as Airplane! & The Naked Gun, I will forever remember him as the Heart Throb, leading man type. I will remember him as Captain John J Adams from Forbidden Planet, as Peter Brent in Tammy and the Bachelor, and as Charlie Telfer in Ransom!

 

Leslie Nielsen - Forbidden Planet
Forbidden Planet
Leslie Nielsen - Tammy and the Bachelor
Tammy and the Bachelor

I doubt most people my age have ever seen those, or noticed him in them. But in their younger years, I believe Leslie Nielsen was far better looking than Sean Connery, and I am sad to see him gone.

On a much happier note, today is the One Week Challenge link up. This past week was busy, busy with family gatherings & work. But I was able to meet my challenge goal and complete two of my needed three mug rugs! The first one started like this, during the November FNSI.

WIP mug rug

The idea was blue & green argyle. Honestly, the more I looked at that thing, the more I hated it. I think it may be the ugliest thing I’ve ever stitched together. So I scrapped it & bought new fabric FQs, in black, blue, green & light gray. Then I redesigned the mug rug to not use applique, and it turned out like this.

Argyle mug rug Argyle with mug

Once I’d bought the fabrics I went looking for the right mug, and I LOVE the one I found! I expected I’d just find something OKAY, and settle for whatever was available.  Instead, I found this great mug with diamond shapes on it to match the argyle.  The deep brown color goes nicely with the dark colors of the mug rug, but it’s so shiny, in most lighting it really just reflects the colors it sits on anyway!

The second one actually started with the mug.  This friend loves all things pink, and I had stumbled upon this cute, pink, friendship mug depicting two sheep sitting at a cafe table. My first plan was to make the mug rug sheep shaped, with cloud like scallops, a cute sheep face and four little legs sticking out the bottom.  I knew I couldn’t bind that, so I made the sheep top, layered it inside out, stitched it up & turned it.  It was perfectly cute every step of the way… until I finished turning it right side out.  At that point, it showed puckers & bunched seams and it had short, scrawny, pitiful legs.  I was too aggrevated to photograph that version.

So… I flipped it back around, ripped a bunch of seams and started adding pink strips every-which-way I could.  That face was too cute and too much work to abandon.   I think the rectangle version turned out pretty cute when I was finished!

Pink Sheep Sheep with mug

The “grass” around the legs is even cut up from the original “sheep-shaped” backing.  So I was able to salvage that too, which left enough in my scrap stash to still make the full backing from that same fabric.

Sheep back

Two down & One to go!  I’d like to get the last one finished this week.  But it’s more important that I make further progress on my “secret” proect.  It has to be done, washed, dried & wrapped by Christmas morning.  I estimate about 40 hours of work left on it.  But that’s an over-estimation (I hope) to make me keep on track and not procrastinate.  I’ve been taking photos, so I should be able to build a pretty decent post out of it, after Christmas.  Can you believe December starts on Wednesday!!??!

S&Y Green Turtle

18 responses to this post.

  1. Adorable mug rugs!! I need to make me a sheep one!!! what a cute idea!! thanks for charing and congrats on your finish this week!!

    Reply

  2. Your mug rugs are cute! For me, it’s always a question whether I’ll like what I end up with – and lots of stuff never makes it on the blog! You are brave to confess your goofs!! I do like the second argyle mat much better – and the sheep is priceless!! Great challenge finish!!

    Reply

    • Yeah, that first argyle one…. I don’t really know what I was thinking. I still like the colors, but those prints just don’t go well the way I had them. I don’t know what I’m going to do with it now. It’s basically a finished mug rug top…. but SO UGLY lol

      Reply

  3. I LOVE the argyle! And that sheep is way too cute! Great job and good luck on your secret project!

    Reply

  4. Perfect mugs for your cute little mug rugs.

    Reply

  5. Here in South Australia it’s been December for over 2 hours….

    Reply

    • Somehow I’m not surprised that *you* were still awake! :-)

      My December starts in less than six hours now, and I still don’t have my Christmas tree up!! It’ll probably get done over the weekend.

      Thanks for visiting, Sara! :-)

      Reply

  6. [...] all that counts.” Elena @ Breakfast for Dinner recently posted..Silhouette giveaway! Challenge Finish & A Fond Farewell « Snippets & Yarns from Turtle Bottom – November 29, 2010 – 9:28 [...]

    Reply

  7. I like the way you are matching mug and rug. Cute!

    Reply

  8. Love, love love those black/white/pink placemats. They are darling! :)

    Reply

    • Thank you, Hether!! It was super fun to make :-) And the rectangle shape makes them pretty simple too. You should consider making one for yourself to find out how much fun they are!

      Reply

  9. The mug matt combos are very cute. There was a sheep jumping a fence pattern at Paper Panache last month that I want to make up into a small wall hanging.

    Reply

    • I would love to see that, Heather! I looked up a lot of sheep clip art on the internet, before I made this guy. I was trying to find a good (simple) version that I could draw easily. It was a lot of fun to see all the different styles of sheep drawings that are out there :-)

      I hope we will get to see your wall hanging when you make it!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

  10. Hi Meagan,
    Thanks for the wonderful prize package. Love the luggage tag. You guessed the blue colour almost perfect for my fencing bag.

    I am so looking forward to reading that book next week. I should be finished my baking by then and be ready to read about someone else in the kitchen.

    The orange fabric is amazing. I subscribe to the belief that one can never have too much orange fabric.

    I will post a thank-you on my blog in the next day or so. Thanks again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

